#Project14Lists 2018: Recommended Books for Non-Reader Friends

I thought I would write something unique before the year ends, something that involves sharing my love for books and dragging my friends in them. Today, I’m going to talk about books that you can recommend to your non-reader friends based off of the personalities of my own friends! 
This post is also dedicated to my friends mentioned below for being such a big part of my 2018 still despite the separation because of school or work. I cannot thank them enough for being incredible, and therefore, they deserve the biggest round of applause for keeping me sane for the most part of the year. Think you’ve got friends like mine? Let’s talk about them below!
image

The Lexie – that one friend that loves fairy tales

I recommend: The School for Good and Evil series by Soman Chainani

Lexie is just about the sweetest person I have ever had the pleasure of being friends with, and she loves books, too! We just met again this year in July when she came back from New York after many years of being away after she left the Philippines back in high school. Seeing her again has filled me up with the utmost joy. 

I think my being away from Lexie for the longest time has made me think of The School for Good and Evil which is such a good fairy tale inspired book. It’s got all the good ol’ stories, except, well, it’s much darker. But the fact that the books inspire a sense of hope is definitely one of the better parts of it. My Lexie or your non-reader friend that’s like Lexie would definitely love this kind of book for that small silver lining. Plus, it’s the perfect series for a one-sitting read for your non-reader friend!

image
image

The Jojo – that one friend that loves the outdoors

I recommend: Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

There’s a different camaraderie when you end up working in the same job with one of your closest friends in high school. Jojo is one of the strongest and smartest people I know long before we started working together in the same company and industry. She has an adorable baby girl right now, and is a happily married lady. I honestly cannot wait to see her again!

Jojo has, in fact, read the Percy Jackson series. And she adores the outdoors. She would leave the house to go hiking or trekking if she could help it, and I think the PJO series is the perfect recommendation for any non-reader friend that loves being outside. The books are action-packed and takes you to all the amazing places. It’s the perfect book to have for any friend that would take breaks while trekking (if they take breaks, haha!).

image
image

The Pearl – that one friend that exercises her no-nonsense feat

I recommend: Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

Pearl is such a headstrong person. In the circle of friends we have, she’s probably the one that makes some of the more logical choices than most of us that go by heart. She’s currently pushing through the struggles of college right now, and I admire her so much for it.

Pearl has also read the Gallagher Girls series. In fact, we grew up loving the series together back in high school. This is honestly the perfect book to recommend to your no-nonsense friend because I definitely think they’ll enjoy the espionage personality that the books in this  series portrays. They’ll love the first book, but I’m pretty sure they’ll rave about the rest of the books even more!

image
image

The Caryl – that one friend that is a hopeless romantic

I recommend: The Selection series by Kiera Cass

Caryl is also one of the sweetest people I’ve met, and she also has the kindest heart in any person I’ve ever came across. There is nothing Caryl wouldn’t do for her family and her friends. She always goes the extra mile and I just absolutely love her for it. She’s currently in New Orleans pursuing her dreams right now, and I honestly miss her so much already. But I know in due time, we’ll meet again.

Now Caryl is one of my actual non-reader friends. But if she does decide to sit down and try out a book, I would definitely recommend The Selection series because it has all the feels wrapped up in one glorious set of books. She always was a hopeless romantic to me, and I think she and your own Caryl would love to dive into this amorous book of choices, love and sacrifices. 

image
image

The Lei – that one friend that’s not afraid to stand out

I recommend: Stalking Jack the Ripper series by Kerri Maniscalco

I have known Lei [and Nikki] the longest in this set of friends I have written out. She’s been my friend since elementary school and have just recently reconnected with her since the start of the year. Lei has grown so much into the person she is now in all the years that we’ve missed each other, and she is not afraid to stand out in a crowd (literally and figuratively, for all her miniature height, haha!)

Lei likes to read books, but to a selective extent. She loves reading about powerful women and how they take no rubbish from no man. And I think if you have a non-reader friend like Lei, you should definitely recommend the Stalking Jack the Ripper series. The main character, Audrey Wadsworth, is definitely not afraid to stand out despite society’s bearings against her as a woman. And such a character reminds me so much of Lei and how she–and your similar friend that’s much like Lei–would enjoy reading such an epic series.

image
image

The Nikki – that one friend that loves art and making it

I recommend: A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas

Like I’ve mentioned earlier, Nikki is one of the people I have known the longest in this list of friends because I have also known her since elementary. In fact, Nikki, Lei and I have been close since our very youngen days. She is one of the most artistic people I know and I have loved seeing her art since the first day I’ve ever met this amazing girl. I definitely think she’ll go places one day!

For my artistic non-reader friend, I would recommend A Court of Thorns and Roses. Not only is the main character a remarkable painter, but the detail written into Maas’s ACOTAR books are absolutely splendid. Plus, if you don’t mind some Adult content, this is definitely the book for your friend. And of course, this is a book I should have Nikki read because I reckon she’ll have a blast with it.

image
image

The Penny – that one friend that loves classic retellings

I recommend: The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer

Penny is one of my college friends and one that I still keep in close touch with despite myself having left that very brief one semester at university. You’ll be surprised to know that I’ve known Penny since my elementary days, and you guys do not want to know how we became friends, haha! It’s almost laughable what happened between us before we became close in college. Anyways, Penny is a remarkable breath of fresh air and is actually one of the lovely people that I can totally get along with when it comes to our favorite books. We nearly have all the same faves, really!

One of the things Penny absolutely enjoys reading are retellings of some classics. In the case of the non-reader friend, a classic could be anything like a classic movie that your friend would want to go back to from time to time like Mulan or High School Musical. Penny enjoys classic fairy tales and how people write retellings of them. The Lunar Chronicles has those fairy tales with a darker twist in an action-packed sci-fi world. It will surely pique the interest of your classics-loving friend!

image
image

The Feliz – that one friend that could build empires

I recommend: An Ember In The Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir

Last, but definitely not the least, is Feliz. Or rather, Liz (because she’d probably stab you with a fork if you called her Feliz), has been my best friend since high school and our friendship has been inseparable ever since. She’s pretty much the Elphaba to my Glinda, the Ginny to my Luna, the Angelica to my Eliza, or whichever amazing friendship or sisterhood that comes to mind. This girl is one of the most brilliant people I’ve ever met and I am forever grateful to have her as my best friend.

If you have a non-reader friend that’s strong-willed and makes her own rules, perhaps she will fancy reading the An Ember in the Ashes series. The Roman Empire setting is absolutely timeless, and with strong characters like Helene and Laia, one cannot help but dive right into this brilliant world-building. I personally think my best friend would enjoy such a remarkably written book about powerful women, and I think your non-reader friend would too!

image

Do you have non-reader friends that sound a lot like my friends? What are some other recommendations do you have in mind for the kind of friends I have? Sound off in the comments below!

image

Leave a comment