Grisha Verse on Netflix | Show Reaction & Fan Cast

I know I am late to the party of reaction posts for the officially official Grisha Verse Netflix show mayhem, but I’m going to write one anyway because I’ve been saying this for the longest time over at my post of Books That Should Be Turned Into Movies/TV Shows where I have imagined Six of Crows as a Netflix show. Lo’ and behold, not too many months later, it has been green-lighted

At first, I thought it was one of those “fake news” where people just crazy hype it because, let’s be real, we’re all desperate for something even remotely close to it. But when the queen and genius, Leigh Bardugo herself confirmed the authenticity of articles such as this, I bloody near lost my voice screeching my excitement. 

I’m still reeling over the fact that this is it, you guys. After so many years for others, for me just nearly a year over, the Grisha Verse is getting the due and exposure it deserves! 

Like the nervous bookworm I am, I have some reservations for this whole thing happening. This series deserves it more than anything in the world, let’s make that very clear. But as always, ya girl has some high expectations for such a brilliantly written series. I suppose I just don’t want this beautiful series to be Percy Jacksoned (yes, let’s make it a thing because the movies were a right mess), if you will. Buuuuut if Leigh trusts the remarkable Eric to give this series justice, then I have no complaints!

Another bit of reservation, of course, is that the series will span for eight episodes. Let me just say that the first three books, the Grisha trilogy, is no walk in the park. The Six of Crows duology would need about a chapter per episode because it absolutely deserves that. I do wonder how they’re going to fit all of it in eight episodes. Unless they do it Game of Thrones style with an hour or two per episode (which would be much better because I would lose sleep for sure just to binge this okay), I can’t really see how they might squeeze it all into one season. Also, based on the article, it might be about a “young soldier uncovering a power that might finally unite her country”. At first, I thought this would be about Alina, but then it also might not be. So are we getting a new character? I have so many questions, I can’t even list the lot on this discussion post.

All I can do, though, is to trust the process and also just be super glad that this is actually happening and honestly, I cannot wait! I have waited for this series to be a show/movie for the longest time that I already had my own fancast in mind while reading the books.

Of course, this would not be a fandom-ish discussion post without posting my own fancast for the Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows duology. At least two of my fancasts have declared themselves hoping to play the roles that I matched them with (*ahem* Neelam and Sean *ahem*), so if that isn’t the best thing ever, I don’t know what is!

divide

The Fan Cast

Sean O’ Pry as The Darkling/Aleksander Morozova

I think we can all collectively agree that Sean O’Pry is the ultimate Darkling fancast because we all love one handsome and broody villain. But also, Sean tweeted Leigh that he accepts the role of the Darkling. Okay, um, yesmake it happen!

 

Adelaide Kane as Alina Starkov

I absolutely adore Adelaide Kane. She’s my ultimate girl crush and she’s the very person I imagined while reading the Shadow and Bone books. Also, if anyone has ever watched her on Reign, her character, Mary, Queen of Scots, there sounds just like our girl Alina in the books.

 

Toby Regbo as Nikolai Lantsov

I know I show no shame in diverting from the Reign cast. But honestly, Toby is also the one I imagined as Nikolai throughout reading the books and it’s stuck with me ever since. He just has those “Nikolai” vibes I’m looking for. Plus, Toby’s voice is A++, so I’m sold.

 

Sophie Turner as Genya Safin

It took me the longest time to find a fan cast for Genya. I have considered Sophie Skelton, but then I realized she didn’t have that fierce appeal that Sophie Turner has to play Genya. Genya is definitely one of my book girlfriends because she’s an absolute BAMF and for her to be played by Sophie would be everything.

 

Janel Parrish as Zoya Nazyalensky

I can’t remember if Zoya was portrayed as Asian in the books, but throughout it, I’ve always envisioned Janel for her. She’s such a gorgeous woman, and absolutely fierce if anyone has ever watched her as Mona from Pretty Little Liars. Also, I hear she’s a potential love interest for Nikolai in King of Scars, so I am even more here for Janel as Zoya, aahhh!

 

Drew Roy as Malyen Oretsev

Honestly, I have not considered putting a fan cast for Mal because… well, it’s Mal. (*spills perfectly good tea because, well, Mal*). But anyway, here’s Drew Roy and he’d look pretty cool playing Mal. Okay, next.

 

Luke Pasqualino as Kaz Brekker

Alright, but has no one ever considered POC Kaz because?? Luke would absolutely kill it as Kaz. Just check out his photos from his show, Snatch. The get up, the character he plays and just the way he carries himself–I mean, if that isn’t Kaz freaking Brekker, I don’t know who is. *insert Change My Mind table here*

 

Neelam Gill as Inej Ghafa

Back then, it has taken me ages to find the perfect Inej. It was honestly so hard envisioning an actress for Inej while reading the books. It was only after I read the books and started searching for fan casts that I saw Neelam. She’s absolutely perfect! And like Sean, she also requested to play Inej for the Netflix show. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again, #MakeNeelamGillOurInej2k19!

 

Barbie Ferreira as Nina Zenik

Barbie is exactly the Nina I envisioned. She’s gorgeous and witty, and everything that my fave bookish girlfriend–Nina Zenik–is. Also, Neelam has vouched for Barbie to play Nina, so I’m honestly not complaining. I absolutely adore her, and I hope to everything that she gets to play Nina!

 

Christopher Mason as Matthias Helvar

The hardest person to fan cast for this whole lot was Matthias. There are a lot of big, blond men to choose from and not all of them fits the perfect description for Matthias. But when I finally discovered Christopher Mason on a Tumblr GIF post where he was cast as Matthias, I was blown away. He is the perfect Matthias, the love of my life and one of my fave book boyfriends. Netflix people, make it happen.

 

Keith Powers as Jesper Fahey

Throughout reading the books, I always imagined Keiynan Lonsdale because I had just gotten off a high from watching The Flash. But not long after I finished the books, I saw Keith Powers as one of the men people fan casted for Jesper, and my vision for Jesper has changed ever since. He’s absolutely gorgeous and would play Jesper perfectly!

 

Max Barczak as Wylan Van Eck

I think next to Matthias, Wylan was another character that was a tad difficult to find a fan cast for. Though, it’s mostly because I absolutely adore Wylan and could not find anyone that could do him justice. But after some searching, I found Max Barczak and I’ve never been happier with the choice. Although I am always up for any other suggestions people might have in mind!

divide

Quotes/Scenes That Need To Be In The Show

This was totally put in last minute, but I can’t help but share some of my favorite quotes and scenes from the books that should definitely be included in the season of the show if they’re going for the actual book-to-show happening for this series. I’m starting a mutiny if at least not one of these quotes/scenes are presented. Well, not really, but there will be tables flipped because I’ve waited for the longest time for this show to happen, and honestly, I just need at least one of these, argh.

Anyway, here a few quotes/scenes from each book that needs to make the show.

dividersmall

Shadow and Bone

The Darkling slumped back in his chair.
“Fine,” he said with a weary shrug. “Make me your villain.”


She smiled then, a small smile of such aching sadness that it was hard to look at.
 
“You think I don’t love my son,” she said. “But I do. It is because I love him that I will not let him put himself beyond redemption.”
 

Siege and Storm

“I took a breath. “Your highness—”
 
“Nikolai,” he corrected. “But I’ve also been known to answer to ‘sweetheart’ or ‘handsome.” 

“Promise not to kick me again, and I’ll promise not to kiss you again,” he said. 

“I only kicked you because you kissed me!” 
 
Ruin and Rising
 

“Know that I loved you,” she said to the Darkling. “Know that it was not enough.”


“I want you to know my name. The name I was given, not the title I took for myself.
Will you have it?”

“Yes.”

“Aleksander.” 

Six of Crows

Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”

“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.

“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.

“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.

“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.


Jesper knocked his head against the hull and cast his eyes heavenward. “Fine. But if Pekka Rollins kills us all, I’m going to get Wylan’s ghost to teach my ghost how to play the flute just so that I can annoy the hell out of your ghost.”

Brekker’s lips quirked. “I’ll just hire Matthias’ ghost to kick your ghost’s ass.”

“My ghost won’t associate with your ghost,” Matthias said primly, and then wondered if the sea air was rotting his brain.” 


“Oh, I see. I’m the wicked Grisha seductress. I have beguiled you with my Grisha wiles!”

She poked him in the chest.

“Stop that.”

“No. I’m beguiling you.” 

Crooked Kingdom

“I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”


“I am grateful you’re alive”, he said. “I am grateful that you’re beside me. I am grateful that you’re eating.” 

She rested her head on his shoulder. 

“You’re better that waffles, Matthias Helvar.” 

A small smile curled the Fjerdan’s lips. 

“Let’s not say things we don’t mean, my love.”


“Have any of you wondered what I did with all the cash Pekka Rollins gave us?”

“Guns?” asked Jesper.

“Ships?” queried Inej.

“Bombs?” suggested Wylan. “Political bribes?” offered Nina.

They all looked at Matthias.

“This is where you tell us how awful we are,” she whispered.

He shrugged. “They all seem like practical choices.”

divide

🌺  Are you excited about the upcoming Netflix show or skeptic?

🌺 Who is your favorite Grisha Trilogy character? Favorite Six of Crows character?

🌺 Do you agree with my fan casts or have someone else in mind?

Let’s discuss all the awesomeness that has yet to happen for this brilliant series turning into a Netflix show down below!

samplesignature1

Leave a comment